Final Call For Nominations For The 2020 Royal Automobile Club Historic Awards

2020 Royal Automobile Club Historic Awards’ Finalists Are Announced

The finalists for the 2020 Royal Automobile Club Historic Awards, which recognise outstanding achievements within the British historic motoring and motorsport world, have now been revealed.

The judges had an impressive and diverse list of candidates across all the categories to scrutinise and have now selected their finalists in each of the eight categories.

The 2020 Royal Automobile Club Historic Awards finalists are:

Collection (supported by Footman James)
  • British Motor Museum
  • National Motor Museum, Beaulieu
  • Vauxhall Heritage
Competitive Event
  • A Novice Trial
  • HSCC Legends of Brands Hatch Super Prix
  • Thruxton Historic
Motoring Spectacle
  • Classics for Carers
  • London Concours
  • REVS Limiter
Outstanding Journalism
  • Doug Nye – Stirling Moss (Magneto)
  • Jon Pressnell – Life in the Snakepit (Enjoying MG)
  • Gary Pusey – The Wildlife Conservation Pioneers (Land Rover Monthly)
Personality (supported by HERO)
  • Daniel Geoghegan, Bicester Heritage
  • Rev. Adam Gompertz
  • Janice Pitchforth, Heritage Skills Academy
Race Series (supported by A. Lange & Söhne)
  • FJHRA/HSCC ‘Silverline’ UK Championship
  • GT & Sports Car Cup
  • HRDC ‘Jack Sears Trophy’ for Touring Cars 1958-1966
Restoration (supported by Bicester Heritage)
  • 1911 De Dion lorry – owner/restorer, Nick Pellett
  • 1981 Ford Escort Mk 2 (ex-David Richards/Ari Vatanen WRC) – restorer, Viking Motorsport
  • 1948 Land Rover JUE 477 – restorer, Julian Shoolheifer
Young Achiever (supported by 1762 from Brewin Dolphin and StarterMotor)
  • Liam Howel (Jim Clark Trust and Jim Clark Motorsport Museum)
  • Jack Bond (Tip Top Engineering and VSCC)
  • Harry Ruffell Hazel (CMC)

The juries now have the tricky task of whittling the finalists down to choose the category winners…

Ben Cussons, Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club said,

“There has never been a better time to be rewarding excellence and achievement in what has been an extraordinary year. From keeping businesses active to producing events when all the odds were stacked against the organisers showed such determination. There was also an impressive line-up of online activities within the entries, which just reinforced how resilient and innovative the industry has been in keeping the wheels turning.

“The standard of entries this year has been overwhelming and the judges, who I’d like to thank, had a tough time honing them down to the finalists.  I’m especially encouraged by the quality of nominations for the Young Achiever Award, new for this year, it really highlights the passion amongst the young guns for the industry. To give us a glimmer of hope of celebrating with the winners and our partners we will be announcing the results on the evening of 28 January”.

Ben Cussons, Chairman, Royal Automobile Club

As well as revealing the individual category winners on 28 January 2021, the Club will also announce the winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award, to recognise an individual who has, in the opinion of the Club, made an outstanding contribution to British motoring history and heritage, or to the British historic motoring and motor racing movement, across many years.

About The Judges

Each category is assessed by its own independent, specialist judging panel. Every panel is headed by a Lead Judge, bringing a significant level of knowledge, experience and integrity to the judging process.

The Lead Judges are: Alastair Clements (Editor-in-Chief, Classic & Sports Car), Steve Cropley (Editor-in-Chief, Autocar), David Lillywhite (Editorial Director of Magneto), Vanessa Marçais (historic motorsport competitor and event organizer), Tom Purves (Chairman of Motorsport UK Council and a Vice President of the Royal Automobile Club), Simon Taylor (journalist, TV commentator and former Editor of Autosport and Managing Director of Haymarket Magazines), Ian Titchmarsh (motor racing commentator and Chair of Silverstone Heritage) and Jeremy Vaughan (Head of Motoring, the Royal Automobile Club).

For further information please visit:

Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *