Nominations Now Open for the 2020 Royal Automobile Club Historic Awards (Photo by Jonny Shears)

Nominations Now Open for the 2020 Royal Automobile Club Historic Awards

Nominations are now invited for the 2020 Royal Automobile Club Historic Awards, the Club’s annual celebration of achievement and excellence in the British historic motoring and motorsport world.

Ben Cussons, Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club said:

The inaugural Awards in 2019 were a resounding success, with high calibre nominations received from around the UK resulting in a wonderful collection of worthy winners. It’s now time to crank up 2020 and encourage nominations from those organisations and individuals who have been remarkably creative in these extraordinary times with some pioneering examples of keeping the wheels turning. The awards will be presented on 26th November 2020, at either a live event or an online one, and we very much look forward to rewarding and celebrating exceptional achievements.

Ben Cussons, Chairman, Royal Automobile Club

Candidates can nominate themselves or be nominated by a third party. 

Award nominations, which should be made online at, are invited in the following categories:

  • Collection
  • Competitive Event
  • Motoring Spectacle
  • Outstanding Journalism 
  • Personality
  • Race Series
  • Restoration
  • Young Achiever

The range of categories reflects the diversity of the historic motoring and motorsport scene. New for 2020 is the Young Achiever category, aimed at rising stars aged between 18 and 30 who are building their future in the industry and making a vital contribution.

The eligibility period for this year’s Awards is 1st October 2019 to 30th September 2020. Each category will be assessed by its own independent, specialist judging panel, who are handpicked and bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to the robust judging process.

In addition to the above categories, the Club will present the Royal Automobile Club Lifetime Achievement Award, celebrating an individual who has made a truly outstanding contribution to British motoring and/or motorsport heritage over many decades. 

Nominations close on 1st October 2020 and the winners will be announced on 26th November 2020.

The Awards are a continuation of the Club’s more than 120-year pedigree in recognising motoring accomplishments. Today, the Club presents a series of internationally-recognised accolades, including the Segrave Trophy, the Torrens Trophy, the Simms Medal, the Dewar Trophy and the oldest trophy in motorsport still being competed for today – the Tourist Trophy.

Photo Credit: Header image by Jonny Shears

About Author

Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *